top of page
  • Writer's pictureKaylor Girls

Country Duo Walker County Release Debut Album Painted Ponies Available, Today, April 12

Sister country duo Walker County are celebrating a release nearly a decade in the making with their highly anticipated full-length album Painted Ponies available today, Friday, April 12, 2024. Featuring previously released singles “Double-Wide World” and “Hits Home,” the 11-track album breaks into the sisters’ vulnerable and most authentic side as they take listeners on a journey through their own deeply personal stories. Listen to Painted Ponies now

"To say we are proud of our debut album ‘Painted Ponies’ would be an understatement. We have almost 10 years of love and lyrics poured into this project. We are so excited to share with the world these songs we have loved for so long. We hope y’all love it as much as we do,” Walker County shared. 

Spanning nearly ten years, since sisters, Ivy and Sophie, signed their first record deal, the newly independent duo are sharing their experiences in a cohesive collection that rivals any major label release produced by longtime collaborator, co-writer and friend Paul Sikes (Lainey Wilson, Cody Johnson, Lorrie Morgan). Highlighting the range of the album, they begin with a true country relationship tune titled “20%,” and end on the opposite side of the spectrum with the album’s namesake, a ballad that parallels career woes, “Painted Ponies.” Throughout the record, the sisters’ harmonies are at the heart of each track and positions the duo as strong female voices in the genre. 

Preceded by their No Smoke and Mirrors EP, which was released last year, the debut effort taps into the soulful sound present in their previous work with newfound freedom and creative clarity. Their most authentic piece of work yet, Painted Ponies sheds light on both the lyricism and vocal talent that Ivy and Sophie possess. 

Inspired by the American heartland, Walker County’s music touches roots to the part of the country they grew up in. Having opened for acts such as Willie Nelson, Dwight Yoakam, Martina McBride, Old Dominion and more, Walker County has wowed audiences of their own and won over many hearts in the process. With millions of streams accumulated across tracks like “Bits & Pieces” and “Drag It Out” and over 1.7 million likes on their TikTok videos, the sister duo have proven talent and passion can go a long way. Their debut EP, No Smoke and Mirrors, was praised by Billboard for its “ultra-country enunciations within well-crafted, two-part harmonies” and they are poised to earn more acclaim from their tremendous debut album release which they will perform at this year’s CMA Fest on the Hard Rock Stage June 8. 

Painted Ponies Tracklist: 

*All songs written by Paul Sikes, Sophie Walker and Ivy Walker

  1. “20%”

  2. “The Thing About Fences” 

  3. “Hits Home”

  4. “Settling’s For Dust” 

  5. “Double-Wide World” 

  6. “Small Pond”

  7. “Skeletons”

  8. “What You Don’t Get”

  9. “Handwritten”

  10. “Two Birds”

  11. “Painted Ponies”

Stream/purchase Painted Ponies  HERE.

Keep up with Walker County on Instagram, Facebook, TikTok and their official website

1 view0 comments


bottom of page