May 6, 2016 Cyndi Lauper – Detour (Sire)

May 6, 2016

Cyndi Lauper - Detour (Sire)

Cyndi Lauper is best known as the voice behind “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun” and “True Colors,” but she’s in for a change here. “Detour” is her first country disc, and the New York native covers some of her favorite country songs from the ’40s, ’50s and ’60s. Among them are “Funnel of Love,” “Heartaches by the Number,” “I Fall to Pieces” and “Nightlife.” The latter was written by Willie Nelson more than five decades ago, and he sings on Lauper’s version. Emmylou Harris, Vince Gill, Jewel and Allison Krauss also lend their vocal talents.

Cyndi Lauper, Detour Track Listing

1. “Funnel of Love”
2. “Detour” featuring Emmylou Harris
3. “Misty Blue”
4. “Walkin’ After Midnight”
5. “Heartaches by the Number”
6. “The End of the World”
7. “Night Life” featuring Willie Nelson
8. “Begging to You”
9. “You’re the Reason Our Kids Are Ugly” featuring Vince Gill
10. “I Fall to Pieces”
11. “I Want to Be a Cowboy’s Sweetheart” featuring Jewel
12. “Hard Candy Christmas” featuring Alison Krauss


Read More: Cyndi Lauper to Release Country Classics Album ‘Detour’ |